I finally bought a tripod.  I’ve been ‘making do’ with a Joby Gorillapod for almost a year – it’s pretty great but you can only do so much with a 30cm tall tripod.

So, my “industrial strength” Induro AT413 tripod arrived in the mail today.  It’s a heavy beast but I wanted something really simple, tough and stable.  It weighs nearly 4kg but I have small kids so I’m used to carrying stuff around everywhere :).

Naturally I had to give it a go:

I turned off all the lights and set up a couple of candles for lighting.  You can get some fascinating effects with flickering light and long exposure.  Here’s the result:

Gerberas - ISO100, 60mm, f/5.6, 30s with color temp SOOC.

That’s interesting but the red / orange glow wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. Fortunately I use Lightroom 4 for developing my pics and when shooting in RAW, this is an easy color temperature adjustment.

Here is exactly the same picture – the only change here is a slide of the color temperature down by 1200 Kelvin (i.e. shifting color from red towards blue):

Gerberas - ISO100, 60mm, f/5.6, 30s with color temp fix.

That pink is pretty close to the original gerbera colour.  Lightroom is cheap to buy, simple to use, powerful and pretty amazing.

Oh, the tripod was (naturally) solid as a rock :).  I look forward to using it in much more challenging circumstances, soon!

