The Wheel of Brisbane is located in the Cultural Centre Forecourt, at South Bank, Brisbane.  It was a fun subject for some Friday night photography – popular too – I spotted at least 5 other keen photographers doing something similar to what I was doing.

Reflection, The Wheel of Brisbane
Brisbane Skyline – Treasury building at the left, The Wheel of Brisbane in foreground.
ISO 100, 36mm, f/29, 30s

My new tripod got a good workout, as you can see.  I am glad I decided to buy the taller and heavier one – so long as I’m dragging any tripod around, I don’t really mind how heavy it is, and it’s nice to be able to put my eye to the viewfinder properly on the tall ‘pod.

The Arbour, from Cultural Centre Forecourt, South Bank, Brisbane
ISO 100, 67mm, f/5.6, 4s

There was a guy standing beside me when I took this next one – he had his tripod, a 5D (I think) on the tripod, and a spare 60D for ‘snapshots’.  I’m not envious…. much….

The Wheel of Brisbane, looking towards South Bank.
ISO100, 18mm, f/22, 13s

I’d just like to acknowledge my inspiration for this next shot, which was a shot taken by Francois Lourette, another keen amateur photographer, who blogs as Almates.  I wouldn’t have thought to try such a shot, until I saw his.  You can see his ‘flags’ shot here: Long Exposure Ottawa.

Annie flags, Cultural Centre Forecourt, South Bank Brisbane. Victoria and Kurilpa Bridges in the background.
ISO100, 45mm, f/8, 15s.

I have previously posted about Kurilpa Bridge, here. So, obviously, my “What am I?” pictures from last night were detail shots of the Wheel of Brisbane.  The combined shots are below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope you enjoyed the pictures – I had fun taking them and was pretty happy with how they turned out.  I got some reasonable skyline / river shots as well – a post for another day!

If you’re interested in visiting or riding on the Wheel – its website is here: http://thewheelofbrisbane.com.au/

