“This Land Our Land” is a new exhibition by Dale Weston, Sally Harrison and Annie Clarke at Ipswich Art Gallery, which I visited today.

There is some fantastic work by Dale Weston and Sally Harrison in particular.

Dale Weston says about the exhibition:

“I am a descendant of the Wadyigny and Gayiri peoples of the Northern Territory and central Queensland.  I love to paint memories of my early childhood and youth, but my greatest pleasure is to paint traditional stories about birds, animals and sea creatures.  My paintings are designed to inspire and inform others about my culture and ensure that these stories are preserved for future generations.”

[click any picture for fullsize slideshow]

I wasn’t happy with my photos of the Sally Harrison works so will have to re-visit to get some better ones.

